top of page

How I Started my Underwriting Career

When I started my career in the corporate world, I did not know that what I was doing was called "underwriting".


Taking the Leap

Right after graduation, I was immediately hired as a nurse in the Emergency Dept. of a reputable hospital. I was elated to know that while others in my batch are looking for hospitals and willing to pay just to gain experience, I was already training junior nurses in the Emergency Dept. Little did I know that I would only be paid a salary that would not lead a family. This is what drove me to look for another job in a corporate world.


My Initial Experience as an Underwriter

My journey as an underwriter started with evaluation of insurance applications which is related to my medical profession as we classify the risk of the clients. I was doing the same thing over and over for two years, until I've learned that what I was doing all along was underwriting. The realization came when I was sent by my company to a training which was for underwriters.


Climbing the Corporate Ladder

In 2002, my husband and I migrated to Singapore to seek a brighter future. The experience in Singapore was not all pleasant. With a new culture and work style I had to adapt with, I also need to face the extreme demand of the job. However, this brought significant opportunity for me to hone my underwriting and leadership skills.


Fast Forward to Today

After working for two years in AXA Philippines and Troo, having had 20 years of experience in this profession, I have finally decided to put up my own consultancy, Underwriteq Consulting, Inc. The first ever consultancy business catering for underwriting and claims aspects of the insurance industry accredited by the Insurance Commission.




7 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page